Anime: Maoyuu and Katoura

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha - 02 - Large 34

Here are two quite remarkable shows. They both excel in two parts. One is romance and the other one is different for both shows. Maoyuu Maou Yuusha has it’s economics and Katoura-San has the mind reading. Both make for really amazing and engaging stories. I am overdoing it a bit here I think. There are only two episodes of Maoyuu and Katoura and it isn’t like there has been happening this much, but both shows have laid the groundwork for their stories and it looks pretty good.

Specifics? After the JUMP!

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha - 02 - Large 11

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

It bothers me that I don’t know the Heroes real name. He is only called Hero. It is fine because it works for the story and I am bad at remembering names, so it is not like I’d know him after I heard it, but it still bothers me because it makes his character just a bit impersonal.
I mean those two have known each other for what, two days? Never met each other before that. It looks like they have talked maybe twice for realsies and immediately they start making out. Not saying that stuff never happens, but it all goes a bit to fast for my liking. If they pull it through and keep it interesting I’ll stop my whining and cheer for the lady in the red dress. Does she have a name or is she just the queen?

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha - 02 - Large 28

Now those have been more negative points and I praised it so much in the beginning. What are the good parts? I guess it is the characters, who even without names, are quite well done. The man is feeling useless after a short while because all he knows to do is fight and kill. For the first time he realizes that there might be more to life. And our demon queen without horns? She does quite well teaching her neighbors about economics and trying to get a kiss from her beloved.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha - 02 - Large 06

All is good for those two, but I don’t think it will last long. I am looking forward to this show going deeper into the field of war and economics. It might just be a very entertaining ride!

And now on to the even funnier and more depressing show!

vlcsnap-2013-01-17-22h27m55s147

Katoura-San

Okay, the first episode almost made me cry. So WATCH that. Now, that we are all caught up, let’s look at that second episode. More jokes, more romance and of course some of the dark stuff as well. Seriously, how can these girls be so evil? It is jealousy my friends. I love this show for making all the stuff the “bad” people do kind of relatable. Katoura’s parents? Well the father was a dick and should be hung upside down in horse shit or something. The mother was left alone by her husband and didn’t know how to deal with a kid that read minds and didn’t have a filter. I can see how that can make things really difficult and she chose the easy way without regards for what it caused to her daughter. It is no excuse of course, but it is understandable to an extend.

vlcsnap-2013-01-17-22h28m40s85

And that Moritani girl? She’s just had a crush on that dude for ages now, she is most likely used to getting all she wants, so when she doesn’t get what she wants and sees an opening in her rivals defenses she strikes where it hurts. Again, I don’t think she did the right thing at all, I kinda want to slap her for hurting that cute girl who can’t change who she is, but I can definitely understand why Moritani did what she did.

vlcsnap-2013-01-17-22h28m18s121

There is a lot of place for character growth in this show and I hope they build on it. This might just be the prefect mixture between laughs and serious business, I love it!

Bonus Pics:

vlcsnap-2013-01-17-22h29m26s27Maoyuu Maou Yuusha - 02 - Large 10

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

