MM – Slut

090126-presse

There are bands that never quite leave you. The have a big impact, but not in a fanboy way. They just are there and whenever you return to them, be it by chance or on purpose, you’ll once again discover why they never left you in the beginning. Why they are amazing. And you’ll discover new layers to their music, see new influences in their doing and maybe, depending on the band, you’ll ask yourself why no one else ever talks about them. You’ll also ask yourself if they are ever going to release anything new or if they are completely gone by now. You’ll go and look them up again. Discover that they are in no way gone for good, they are just not doing band stuff right now, they are producing music for theater or something like that. The band will play one single concert at the other end of the country and you’ll moan about not being able to go and look back at the last time they came to your city. And for some reason you didn’t go back then. Actually, you realize, there was never a reason and you vow to go and see them if they come around again.

I think I first heard a song by Slut way back in 2002. I still remember telling a friend how I loved the way they changed from mellow to screaming in a few seconds. My father used to make these mix CDs and Slut would always be on them. Years later I’d learn how to play “Easy to Love” on my bass guitar. I don’t think I still know how to play it. By now I know that the song with the screaming is called “Cosmopolite” and as I understand much more of the lyrics the screaming makes much more sense to me.

This band also marks the only instance were people liked our school radio. A girl from the upper grades did a show. She started with a song by Slut, mentioning their rather unorthodox name and going right into it. People actually turned their heads. I have never been able to replicate that. Maybe it was just because of the band name. Maybe she was the only mature person ever to do a 15 minute show on that radio. I’ll never know. I will return to Slut once in a while though, I’ll think about the name of the band and then scream along with “Cosmopolite”. Or I’ll think of how I played “Easy to love” and to my ex-girlfriend. There is a connection to some bands that will never break. Come back to Berlin Slut so that I can give you an imaginary hug and dance to your music.

This entry was posted in Music, Music Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

